Labor dispute. Dismissal by staff reduction

EMPLOYEE DISMISSAL PROCEDURE

- complex and bureaucratic, which allows dismissed employees to win lawsuits to declare dismissal illegal and reinstate.

Employees in labor disputes are exempt from court costs, and the burden of proof lies with the employer, which also encourages employees to appeal the dismissal in court.
The dismissed employee appealed to the court to recognize the dismissal as illegal, reinstate, recover average earnings and compensation for food for the time of forced absenteeism, recover compensation for the delay in issuing a workbook, and recover moral damages. “Yurkon” LLC represented the interests of the employer.

In support of their claims, the employee argued the following:

  • the employer did not prove the existence of reasons for staff reductions;
  • not all available vacancies are offered by the employer;
  • the employer has not requested a written refusal;
  • the employer has not assessed the preemptive right to remain at work of the employee - the only working family member;
  • the employee is not issued a work record;
  • no employment center notified; 
  • the employer did not take into account the employee’s consent to the proposed vacancy sent by e-mail; 
  • a general meeting has not been held, while the constituent documents prescribe a general meeting to decide on staff reductions; 
  • simple written powers of attorney for non-russian-speaking managers of the employer are flawed, as they were issued in the absence of an interpreter. 

These arguments were based on a misinterpretation of the law. Lawyers of LLC "Yurkon" arguments were refuted on the following grounds:

  1. According to the charter, the general director has all the powers to regulate the employer's relationship with the employees.
  2. The presence of a translator in the preparation of a simple written power of attorney, in contrast to the preparation of a notarized power of attorney, is not required.
  3. The employee refused the notarization certificate of the employee's email inspection, taking into account this and some other arguments of the employer, the fact of sending a letter with consent to the proposed vacancy remained unproved.
  4. The employer notified the employment center, but the lawyers also requested to pay attention to the fact that the notification of the employment center does not affect the legality of the dismissal and is not part of the dismissal procedure.
  5. The employee did not give a written consent to the direction of the employment record by mail, as required by the Labor Code. Accordingly, the workbook is at the employer.
  6. The preemptive right to remain at work is investigated by the employer if one of the same positions of a certain structural unit is reduced, that is, between employees occupying the same positions, some of which are to be reduced, since the degree of labor productivity and qualifications of workers can be compared only by evaluating the performance of the same labor functions. The plaintiff’s belonging to the category of workers enjoying the priority right to remain at work with equal labor productivity and qualification was not to be taken into account, since it did not require an assessment of the labor productivity and skills of the employees and because the only position in this division was reduced.
  7. Labor legislation does not oblige the employer to demand from the dismissed employee an official refusal from the proposed vacancies, especially to draw up an act about it.
  8. The employee was offered all the vacant positions according to the staffing table and certificate of vacancies. The Constitutional and Supreme Courts have repeatedly indicated that the employer, for the purposes of effective economic activity and rational property management, independently takes the necessary personnel decisions (selection, placement, dismissal of staff) ”and that“ entering into an employment contract with a specific person seeking employment is the right, not the duty of the employer. The Labor Code does not contain provisions requiring the employer to fill vacant positions or jobs immediately as they arise.
  9. In accordance with Article 234 of the Labor Code of the Russian Federation, the employer is obliged to reimburse the employee for his unearned income in all cases of unlawful deprivation of his ability to work. However, it should be noted that this provision applies if the dismissed employee was unable to find a job due to the delay in the issuance of a work record by the previous employer. The courts proceed from the obligation of the employee to prove the fact of the refusal of the potential employer in the employment of the employee due to his lack of a work record.
  10. Also, lawyers noted that according to par. 6 art. 84.1 of the Labor Code of the Russian Federation from the date of notification with a request to provide written consent to the sending of the employment record by mail, the employer is released from liability for delay in issuing the employment record. 

The case was completed in favor of the employer, the dismissal was considered legal.
 

Please accept our cookies to get the best experience of our website. There are some features that may not work without cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use, visit our cookie information page.

Трудовой спор. Увольнение по сокращению штата.

Процедура увольнения сотрудников

– сложная и бюрократизированная, что позволяет уволенным сотрудникам выигрывать судебные процессы по признанию увольнения незаконным и восстанавливаться на работе.

От судебных расходов работники при обращении с исками по трудовым спорам освобождены, а бремя доказывания лежит на работодателе, что также стимулирует работников обжаловать увольнение в суде.

Уволенный работник обратился в суд с требованиями признать увольнение незаконным, восстановить на работе, взыскать средний заработок и компенсацию на питание за время вынужденного прогула, взыскать компенсацию за задержку выдачи трудовой книжки, взыскать возмещение морального вреда.ООО «Юркон» представлял интересы работодателя.

В обоснование своих требований, работник приводил следующие доводы:

  • работодатель не доказал наличие причин для проведения сокращения штата;
  • работодателем предложены не все имеющиеся вакансии;
  • работодателем не истребован письменный отказ;
  • работодателем не оценено преимущественное право на оставление на работе работника – единственного работающего члена семьи;
  • работнику не выдана трудовая книжка;
  • не уведомлен центр занятости;
  • работодателем не учтено согласие работника на предложенную вакансию, направленное по электронной почте;
  • не проведено общее собрание, в то время как учредительные документы предписывают проводить общее собрание для принятия решения о сокращении штата;
  • простые письменные доверенности не русскоговорящих руководителей работодателя порочны, так как выданы в отсутствие переводчика.

Данные доводы были основаны на неверном толковании закона. Юристами ООО «Юркон» доводы были опровергнуты по следующим основаниям:

  1. Согласно уставу, генеральный директор обладает всеми полномочиями по регулированию трудовых отношений работодателя с работниками.
  2. Присутствие переводчика при составлении простой письменной доверенности, в отличие от составления нотариально удостоверенной доверенности, не требуется.
  3. Работник отказался от нотариального удостоверения осмотра электронной почты работника, с учетом этого и некоторых других доводов работодателя, факт направления письма с согласием на предложенную вакансию остался недоказанным.
  4. Работодатель уведомил центр занятости, но юристы также просили обратить внимание на то, что уведомление центра занятости не влияет на законность увольнения и не является частью процедуры увольнения.
  5. Работник не дал письменного согласия на направление трудовой книжки по почте, как того требует Трудовой кодекс. Соответственно трудовая книжка находится у работодателя.
  6. Преимущественное право на оставление на работе исследуется работодателем, если подлежит сокращению одна из одинаковых должностей определенного структурного подразделения, то есть между работниками, занимающими одинаковые должности, часть из которых подлежит сокращению, поскольку степень производительности труда и квалификации работников возможно сравнить, лишь оценив выполнение ими одинаковых трудовых функций. Принадлежность истца к категории работников, пользующихся преимущественным правом на оставление на работе при равной производительности труда и квалификации, не подлежала принятию во внимание, поскольку не требовалась оценка производительности труда и квалификации работников и поскольку сокращалась единственная должность в данном подразделении.
  7. Трудовое законодательство не обязывает работодателя истребовать у увольняемого работника официальный отказ от предложенных вакансий, тем более составлять акт об этом.
  8. Работнику были предложены все вакантные должности согласно штатному расписанию и справке о вакантных должностях. Конституционный и Верховный суды неоднократно указывали, что работодатель в целях эффективной экономической деятельности и рационального управления имуществом самостоятельно, под свою ответственность принимает необходимые кадровые решения (подбор, расстановка, увольнение персонала)» и что «заключение трудового договора с конкретным лицом, ищущим работу, является правом, а не обязанностью работодателя. Трудовой кодекс не содержит норм, обязывающих работодателя заполнять вакантные должности или работы немедленно по мере их возникновения.
  9. В соответствии со ст.234 ТК РФ работодатель обязан возместить работнику, не полученный им заработок во всех случаях незаконного лишения его возможности трудиться. Однако при этом следует учесть, что данная норма применяется, если уволенный работник не смог трудоустроиться в связи с задержкой выдачи трудовой книжки предыдущим работодателем.Суды исходят из обязанности работника доказать факт отказа потенциального работодателя в трудоустройстве работнику в связи с отсутствием у него трудовой книжки.
  10. Также юристами было отмечено, что согласно абз. 6 ст. 84.1 ТК РФ со дня направления уведомления с просьбой предоставить письменное согласие на направление трудовой книжки по почте, работодатель освобождается от ответственности за задержку выдачи трудовой книжки.

Дело было завершено в пользу работодателя, увольнение было признано законным.

На нашем сайте используются файлы cookie. Они помогают повысить удобство и эффективность сайта для Вас. Продолжая использовать сайт без изменений настроек браузера, Вы даёте согласие на использование файлов cookie.